The Georgia Library Association offers support for a wide variety of interest groups that advocate for many causes. Consider joining any of the groups listed below and if you are interested in filling an officer’s position or launching a new group, contact the GLA Interest Group Council.

Interest Group Council

Chair:
Sarah Causey, University of Georgia
stamatki@uga.edu

Vice Chair/Chair Elect:
Casey Long, Agnes Scott College
clong@agnesscott.edu

Collection Development

Chair:
Benjamin Barton
Brenau University
bbarton@brenau.edu

Vice Chair:
VACANT

Secretary:
VACANT

Statement of Purpose
The purpose of the Collection Development Interest Group is to promote the discussion and exchange of ideas related to library collection development. This includes collection management, selection tools and processes, and collection development policies. Other possible topics of discussion include collection assessment and evaluation, fiscal management and budgeting, and preservation of materials.

Statement of Criteria for Membership
The group is open to anyone with an interest in issues related to library collection development.

Meeting Minutes
October 7, 2016

Circulation & Access Services

This interest group is currently inactive.
Contact Interest Group Council Chair for more information.

Statement of Purpose
The object of the Circulation and Access Services Interest Group is to promote the exchange of ideas and discussion of issues relating to circulation and access service operations within the Georgia Library Association network of various libraries.

Distance Learning

Co-Chairs:
Michael Wilson
Valdosta State University
mwwilson@valdosta.edu

Tim Wojcik
Clayton State University
tjw.atl@gmail.com

Secretary:
Mary Ann Cullen
Georgia State University
mcullen@gsu.edu

Statement of Purpose

The Distance Learning Interest Group is for GLA members interested in the challenges of providing library services to distance learners.  Our focus is on the kinds of support we, as library staff, can supply to users virtually, remotely, or off-campus.  This includes traditional distance learners, students taking hybrid classes, or any other user accessing library services remotely.

All GLA members are welcome, regardless of role in the library or type of library.

Minutes
December 14, 2016

Genealogy & Local History

Chair:
Angela Stanley, Head of Archives & Special Collections,
Athens-Clarke County Library
astanley@athenslibrary.org

Vice Chair:
Debra Fennell, Heritage Librarian
Ladson Genealogical Library
fennelld@ohoopeelibrary.org

Secretary:
Muriel Jackson, Head of Genealogy & Archives
Washington Memorial Library
jacksonm@bibblib.org

Statement of Purpose
The purpose of the interest group is to exchange ideas and information about the use and accessibility of library genealogy, local history and archival materials. Specific interests include the management of digitization projects and born-digital collections, collections management and preservation, reference and research services, archival processing, programming, and project grant funding.

If you would like to join this group, please complete this form.

Minutes
October 7, 2016

Documents
Genealogy and Local History Interest Group Bylaws

Government Information

Chair:
Laurie Aycock
Kennesaw State University
laycock8@kennesaw.edu

Vice Chair:
Patricia Kenly
Georgia Institute of Technology
patricia.kenly@library.gatech.edu

Secretary:
Thomas Waters
University of West Georgia
twaters@westga.edu

Statement of Purpose
The purpose of the Government Information Interest Group is to promote the use and accessibility of federal, state, and local documents as well as foreign and international documents and to provide support, information-sharing, and instruction for government documents at all levels.

Minutes
December 14, 2016
October 7, 2016

Library Services for Persons with Disabilities

Chair:
Dyana C. Costello Banks
Mountain Regional Library System
outreach@mountainregionallibrary.org

Vice-Chair/Chair-Elect:
Will Smith
Georgia Libraries for Accessible Statewide Services (GLASS)
wsmith@georgialibraries.org

Secretary:
Melissa Lockaby
University of North Georgia
melissa.lockaby@ung.edu

Statement of Purpose
The objectives of the Library Services for Persons with Disabilities Interest Group shall be:

(1) to promote an integrated library experience utilizing assistive technology to ease the access of information for persons with aural, mobility, neurological or visual disabilities, whether permanent or temporary;
(2) to foster cooperation and collaboration with community partners;
(3) to provide educational resources and information about new programs and policies affecting Georgia residents with disabilities.

Library Facilities

Chair:
Alan Lebish
Kennesaw State University
alebish@kennesaw.edu

Vice-Chair/Chair-Elect:
VACANT

Statement of Purpose
For anyone involved with or working on library facility issues such as refurbishing, remodeling, renovation, moving, sustainability, and new building construction. Other topics of interest might include anything from space planning to daily maintenance and repair issues. The group will be a resource to share information relevant to all types of libraries, and possibly suggest topics of interest for GLA Conference presentations.

Information Technology

Chair:
Trish Vlastnik
M. E. Stilwell School of the Arts
patricia.vlastnik@clayton.k12.ga.us

Vice-Chair/Secretary:
John Stephens
Georgia Gwinnett College
jstephens12@ggc.edu

Statement of Purpose
The purpose of the Information Technology Interest Group is to collect and disseminate information in the general area of library automation. Specific interests include the following: electronic data processing, telecommunications, cable communications, systems analysis, and the evaluation of computer hardware and software. The interest group will serve both an educational and clearinghouse function.

Minutes
December 14, 2016
January 22, 2016
February 4, 2005
January 11, 2002

Resources
Link to IT Resources

Intellectual Freedom

Chair:
John Mack Freeman
Gwinnett County Public Library
johnmackfreeman@gmail.com

Vice-Chair:
Mary Young
Uncle Remus Regional Library System
mary@uncleremus.org

Secretary:
VACANT

Statement of Purpose
The purpose of the Intellectual Freedom Interest Group is to increase awareness of intellectual freedom and social responsibility issues among the librarians and all citizens of Georgia. The group educates the members of GLA and supports efforts to combat censorship in all forms.

Interlibrary Loan

Chair:
Rosemary Humphrey
Kennesaw State University
rhumph13@kennesaw.edu

Vice Chair/Chair Elect:
Jessica Garner
Georgia Southern University
jgarner@georgiasouthern.edu

Secretary:
Michelle Jones
Columbus State University
jones_michelle@columbusstate.edu

Statement of Purpose
The objectives of the Interlibrary Loan Interest Group are to promote and facilitate the necessary and appropriate discussion and joint decision making which is essential to maintaining and increasing cooperation between libraries of all types.

Georgia Interlibrary Loan Code 2016

Professional & Continuing Education

Chair:
Oscar Gittemeier
Atlanta-Fulton Public Library
oscar.gittemeier@fultoncountyga.gov

Vice-Chair/Chair Elect:
Justin Nobles
West Georgia Regional Library
justin@wgrl.net

Secretary:
Samantha Paul
Valdosta State University
sepaul@valdosta.edu

Statement of Purpose
The purpose of the Professional and Continuing Education Interest Group (PACE) is to advance the interests of librarianship through initial and continuing professional education of Georgia librarians.

PACE Events
ACRL and Information Literacy: Bringing the “Framework” Into Focus Event

Minutes
December 14, 2016

Research and Assessment Interest Group

Chair:
Cristina Hernández Trotter
chtrotter@gmail.com

Vice-Chair:
Emily Thornton
emily.thornton@ung.edu

Secretary:
Jennifer Price
jennifer.price@gcsu.edu

Minutes:
December 14, 2016
October 7, 2016
January 22, 2016

Events and Presentations

Avoiding Research Pitfalls
Presented by Dr. Michael Gibbons, Middle Georgia State University, March 9, 2017

Removing Barriers to One-Shot Assessment
Presented by Amy Fyn, Margaret Fain, Coastal Carolina University, October 6, 2016

Statement of Purpose
The purpose of this interest group is to foster the skills, knowledge, and experience of members and others in the practices of 1) library assessment and 2) library and information science research.

These two practices seek to positively affect library practices and outcomes by promoting research-based decision making in individual libraries and in the profession as a whole. Members share a common interest in the techniques of qualitative and quantitative data collection and analysis.

By joining together, our members further their common interests and goals by exchanging ideas and information, collaborating on projects, and creating learning opportunities for themselves and others.

RAIG Bylaws

Any GLA members who are interested in LIS research and/or library assessment may sign up for our mailing list at http://list.georgialibraries.org/mailman/listinfo/glaraig-l

Reference and Instructional Services Interest Group

Chair:
Rebecca Engsberg
Mercer University
engsberg_rl@mercer.edu

Vice Chair/Chair Elect:
Angiah Davis
Atlanta-Fulton Public Library, South Fulton Branch
Angiah.Davis@fultoncountyga.gov

Secretary:
Laura Hoefener
Atlanta-Fulton Public Library, Northeast Spruill Oaks Branch
Laura.Hoefener@fultoncountyga.gov

Statement of Purpose
Sponsoring programs and projects closely related to the work of reference librarians. This interest group aims to advance the informational, bibliographical, instructional, and research services in all types of libraries and at all levels within the State of Georgia.

Historical Perspective
Before the emergence of solid Internet communication, reference, and research, the Reference Services Interest Group contributed to libraries in Georgia through print mediums, for example, in a publication called BRIGHT IDEAS.

Subscribe to the Reference Services Interest Group listserv

Technical College Libraries

Chair:
Elissa Checov
Gwinnett Technical College
echecov@gwinnetttech.edu

Vice-Chair:
John Lassiter
Georgia Northwestern Technical College
jlassiter@gntc.edu

Secretary:
Carol Dial
Georgia Piedmont Technical College
dialc@gptrc.edu

Statement of Purpose
The objective of the Technical College Libraries Interest Group is to provide a forum where librarians from Georgia’s technical colleges may meet to discuss and act on matters of specific interest to libraries in technical colleges.

Technical Services

Technical Services Interest Group

Chair:
Elaine Hardy
Georgia Public Library Service
ehardy@georgialibraries.org

Vice Chair/Chair Elect:
Shelley Rogers
University of West Georgia
shelley@westga.edu

Secretary:
A. Carey Huddlestun
Kennesaw State University
ahuddle3@kennesaw.edu

Statement of Purpose
The purpose of Technical Services Interest Group is “to contribute to library service in Georgia through encouragement and promotion of activities in the fields of acquisitions, cataloging, classification, electronic resources management, library systems, serials, and related fields, and through cooperation with the Georgia Library Association. This interest group is organized as one of the regional groups of the ALA Association for Library Collections & Technical Services (ALCTS) Division. Any member of the Georgia Library Association engaged or interested in the work of acquisitions, cataloging, classification, electronic resources management, library systems, serials, and related fields in the state of Georgia may become a member of this interest group.” (GLA Handbook, Nov. 2014, p. 79)