Carterette Series Webinars

From GLA MediaWiki

Jump to: navigation, search

Highlighting Trends, Innovation, and Best Practices in Libraries


CSW would like to extend special thanks to the Georgia Public Library Service for providing access to the WebEx host software.

Upcoming Sessions

July 29, 2015 -- 2PM EST (1PM CST | 12PM MST | 11AM PST)
Open Educational Resources: Librarians as Advocates, Advisors, and Creators - Presented by Mary Ann Cullen
Register
College textbooks have gotten so expensive that many students are opting not to buy the textbook at all, but are taking their chances at lower grades or resorting to work-arounds like sharing textbooks, photocopying from classmates, or finding illegal copies. An increasing number of educators are seeking alternatives to traditional texts, including open educational resources (OERs) and library resources. This webinar will introduce you to what OERs are (and aren’t) and how librarians can support this movement as advocates, advisors, and participants in creating OERs. While primarily directed at academic librarians and administrators, the information provided also applies to media specialists and public librarians who work with home schoolers interested in free and low-cost educational resources.

About the Presenter:
  • Mary Ann Cullen is the Director of Library Services for Georgia Perimeter College’s Alpharetta Campus and GPC Online. She first became involved with OERs in March 2013 after the college’s president challenged the faculty to find free or low-cost alternatives to traditional textbooks to help reduce costs for students. She participated in identifying, selecting and adapting an OER text for Freshman English, a project currently being expanded. Currently, she is working with science faculty on a project that uses readings from a library database in lieu of a traditional textbook.
Audience: Academic Libraries


Webinars in the Works!

  • September 9, 2015 -- 3PM EST (2PM CST | 1PM MST | 12PM PST) - Randall Gooden, a History professor from Clayton State University will present a webinar on Genealogy.
  • October 21, 2015 -- 2PM EST (1PM CST | 12PM MST | 11AM PST - Erin Leach from University of Georgia will discuss collaboration between Technical Services and Public Services.



Archived Sessions

Please visit our archived sessions page to find recordings of previous Carterette Series Webinars.

About the Carterette Series Webinars

The Carterette Series Webinars was named to honor one of our founding members, Pat Carterette.

In June of 2010, members of the Georgia Library Association and the Georgia Public Library Service launched this educational webinar series. The series highlights trends, innovation, and best practices in libraries. The free sessions are open to interested parties from all geographic (and astral) locations. Topics are chosen to be of interest to students and employees from all library types, and each session is approved for one Georgia Continuing Education (CE) contact hour.

Facebook:
Like us on Facebook! We like to be liked.

Twitter:
Want to say lovely things about us on Twitter? Don't forget to add the #carterette hashtag to your tweets so we'll see them and get all misty.


Press:

Contact the Planning Team

For assistance or more information, please email us at carteretteserieswebinars@gmail.com or email a member of our planning team directly:

Kimberly Boyd: kboyd2@brenau.edu
Ashley Dupuy: adupuy@kennesaw.edu
Casey Long: clong@agnesscott.edu


Personal tools