GLA header home jobs membership events contact

GLA Events - Carterette Series Webinars

Logo
logo

CSW would like to extend special thanks to the Georgia Public Library Service for providing access to the WebEx host software.

Upcoming Session


June 7, 2017 -- 2pm Eastern (11am Pacific | 12pm Mountain | 1pm Central)

Movin' on Up: Advancing into Academic Library Middle Management

Register

Can an academic librarian who has only worked on the front lines compete with those who have supervisory experience for middle management positions? What traits are hiring committees looking for in middle managers for public services, especially in applicants with no prior supervisory experience?

This webinar presents the findings of a qualitative study consisting of interviews with academic librarians who have served on hiring committees for middle-management positions, and with public services librarians who have recently made the transition from the front lines to their first supervisory position; and an analysis of the preferred and required qualifications in job ads for middle-management public services positions in academic libraries from the last five years. The presenters use these results to provide guidance on the steps frontline academic librarians can take in order to successfully translate their abilities, knowledge, and skills into their first supervisory position.

About the Presenters:
Megan Hodgee is a Teaching & Learning Librarian at Virginia Commonwealth University. A former ALA Emerging Leader, Megan currently serves as an ALA Councilor-at-Large and is a doctoral student in educational research and evaluation.

Nicole Spoor is the Business Librarian at the University of North Carolina at Charlotte. She currently serves as the Leadership Development Director for ALA New Members Round Table and is a doctoral student in educational leadership.

Audience: Academic libraries


Please visit our archived sessions page to find recordings of previous Carterette Series Webinars.

About the Carterette Series Webinars


The Carterette Series Webinars was named to honor one of our founding members, Pat Carterette.

In June of 2010, members of the Georgia Library Association and the Georgia Public Library Service launched this educational webinar series. The series highlights trends, innovation, and best practices in libraries. The free sessions are open to interested parties from all geographic (and astral) locations. Topics are chosen to be of interest to students and employees from all library types, and each session is approved for one Georgia Continuing Education (CE) contact hour.

Carterette Series Webinars Privacy Statement

Contact the Planning Team


For assistance or more information, please email us at carteretteserieswebinars@gmail.com or email a member of our planning team directly:

 



Website comments to: Sofia Slutskaya
GLA Adminstrative comments and questions to: GLA Administrative Services